Assembly required.

A while back, probably more than a year ago when I started getting obsessed with online shopping for our new home, I chanced upon this pendant lamp that really moved me. The Icarus Lamp by Tord Boontje for Artecnica was ethereal – angel wings that cast a soft ambient glow. Needless to say, I ended up buying. Not one, but two! It just reminded me so much of our son Raithe, now an angel watching from above. Ok, I am justifying my impulse buy. But hey, I had to have it. It was just captivating!!!

So, today, Montri and I carefully unboxed that dusty package from storage and figured out how the delicate Mylar sheets actually transform into the ethereal piece that I saw online.

This is how it should look:
20110419-104225.jpg

The thing came rolled in cardboard, inside a hard tube, with the separate box for the cord and bulb kit. Seemed easy enough. And it was. When I pushed the last button in place… I gasped. Money very well spent!

I’ll post photos when both are installed. Hoping that the blue gray walls of our stairway do justice to these magnificent wings! Till then, I’m holding my breath.

More on Tord Boontje at

Studio Tord Boontje.

What's on your mind?

