Titty Fruit

20110422-013400.jpg
Ripe titty fruits are bright yellow, then turn golden.

20110422-015622.jpg
Fruits about to ripen.

Oh yes, I have some strange plants growing in my garden! As with home decor and fashion, I gravitate towards the unusual. The same goes for my garden. I get easily bored by the mundane.

The scientific name of titty fruit or nipple fruit is Solanum mammosum. It is a relative of tomatoes and potatoes. But, this plant is POISONOUS! I keep having to explain this to one of our maids who enjoys growing edible plants. As this plant has leaves similar to her tomatoes, she keeps asking if we can eat the ripe golden fruits.

Why then do I have something toxic in my garden? The golden fruits make fabulous accents! In bowls or a few mixed in a floral arrangement. Of course, caution must be taken to put these fruits on display away from the reach of curious kids AND dogs.

What is the strangest plant living in YOUR garden? Plant swap??? 😀

If you are viewing this on Facebook, please click on “View Original Post” below to drop by my site and leave your comments! Thanks!!! 🙂

2 comments

  1. Irene Alano

    I wonder if you can grow bluebells in our country…
    Yup,attractive looking plant but not for the digestive system!!!

    • I can try!!! Bring seeds of plants you want to try here…
      Who knows?! I’ve sprouted some seeds of plants I didn’t think would survive here! Some dampened off but some of them thrived.

What's on your mind?

