Reaching for the sun

This is a follow up to my recent post about growing PASSIFLORA MINIATA or Scarlet Passion Flower from seeds:

Crazy for vines « Rica Rants & Raves.

20110517-080302.jpg
20110517-083943.jpg
Seedlings just sprouted! I’m so happy to see them reaching for the sun!
Previously, I tried imported seeds of several passion fruit varieties and failed.
The instructions would say it would take up to 4 months to sprout but they never do.

The fresh seeds took only 14 days to start poking through the media!
25 seedlings sprouted as of today, out of 56 in the tray!

I wonder though, how long before they get big enough to bloom and produce fruits!
I hope they like the intense heat of direct sunlight so I can use them to cover our perimeter walls.
If not, then we’re building an arbor for this.
I can’t wait to see these fiery red flowers in my garden!
20110517-084705.jpg

What's on your mind?

