5 days to 41

Last Monday, I blogged about my countdown to my 41st birthday:
What 40 years taught me… a countdown to Monday! « Rica Rants & Raves.
For the whole week preceding my birthday, I am sharing, everyday, what I have learned in the past 40 years, what I believe, and what may shape the rest of my life.

Today, I am celebrating LOVE.
20110524-080321.jpg
No, not the mushy, romanticized kind! I’m 40, not 12! 🙂
I’ve seen and experienced a lot of heartaches and tragedies resulting from the confusion between ‘being in love’ and untainted, unconditional love.
Epic tragedies.

When I’d rather sleep comfortably than get cramped at the edge of the bed by my ailing dog…
When I’d rather just be lazy and ignore my wilting plants…
When I’m so full of myself and can’t get exactly what I want…
When a friend doesn’t bother to ask my side of a conflict…
When a relative shows entitlement and arrogance…
When one refuses to heed to genuine attempts at reasoning…
When I rightly, or wrongly, do not get appropriate appreciation for acts of kindness…

These are opportunities thrown at me everyday – opportunities to hold fast to commitments I’ve made to love regardless of my ego.

Oh, I still get annoyed!!! I’m soooo far from being a saint. And I know I will never be.
But, what’s important is that I know that I have to make that choice, over and over again.

It is a an ongoing process of learning.
Every time I make that honest, often times difficult choice, I know that I am being the person I want to be.

“Into the hands of every individual is given a marvelous power for good or evil – the silent, unconscious, unseen influence of his life. This is simply the constant radiation of what man really is, not what he pretends to be.”
William George Jordan

2 comments

  1. I never thought I’d say say this…But it’s so nice to be 40 and older and wiser! Love at 40 is so much better than love at 12, and I know what you mean by being cramped at one edge of the bed so as to make the beloved doggie comfortable 🙂

What's on your mind?

