2 days to 41

Last Monday, I blogged about my countdown to my 41st birthday:
What 40 years taught me… a countdown to Monday! « Rica Rants & Raves.
For the whole week preceding my birthday, I am sharing, everyday, what I have learned in the past 40 years, what I believe, and what may shape the rest of my life.

Today, I am celebrating HUMILITY.
20110527-092703.jpg

Humility to me means being honest, first and foremost, to myself.
I am my first critic. It’s almost inhibiting, really. But, in the end, I am assured that most of the time when I say something, it’s the result of a process of self-scrutiny.
So when I say or do something… more often than not, I use some brain cells first.
Deliberate. Sounds common? Believe me, not everyone does.

I can’t say I am truly humble. I don’t know that. If I said that I am, then that would be self-promotion! I know I try and that I feel a tad uncomfortable when I get compliments.
There are people who just soak that up… all the more feeding their inflated ego. Not me.
It feels good to get compliments, yes. But it isn’t something I crave..
A compliment is but a mere observation. It doesn’t mean “you are a goddess”. Hell no.

I believe being humble means seeing yourself as you truly are. Braggarts have serious self-perception issues. One thing I am sure of is that I don’t know everything there is to know about a lot of things. So I am always curious, which leads to questioning my grasp of whatever topic, that leads to finding objective information that requires an open mind.
So, with humility, I have a better chance of learning many things… even learning about myself!
Wisdom is what I am hoping to attain.
After reaching 30, you got to have learned something!!! Otherwise… You’re just too proud to admit ignorance and that’s also being dishonest to yourself. No wisdom will ever result from that.

Egotism is the anesthetic that dulls the pain of stupidity.
—Frank Leahy, Look, 10 January 1955

What's on your mind?

