Mango, Chico & Rambutan

Before I even opened my eyes this morning, I had a vision of my mini-orchard with ginormous mangoes, glistening Valencia oranges, heavy polmelo, bright red rambutan, atis, chico, dalandan, calamansi and Meyer lemons ready for picking! I saw myself with my wide-brimmed straw hat, a gentle breeze ruffling my sun dress, the morning sun on my tanned shoulders, toting a basket… Sniffing the faint scent of Gardenia in the air from the nearby hedge.

Well, that nice picture in my head isn’t happening for another 2-3 years while my saplings are still growing! But I am happy to have that to look forward to!

9AM today, the guys from the nursery arrived on site with the saplings I chose yesterday and a few bags of pre-mixed tree-growing soil. In about 30 minutes, the saplings were on the ground and basking in the bright sunlight of our tiered garden! I’m excited to start planting ornamentals around these babies!

Golden Queen Mango
20110604-124250.jpg

Variegated Chico
20110604-125834.jpg

R5 Rambutan
20110604-010014.jpg

For now, not much to look at. But even in their spindly form, just a promise of the glory they will become, these trees-in-the-making already lift my spirits!
Next in line: pomelo, dalandan and two kinds of lemons!

There is always Music amongst the trees in the Garden, but our hearts must be very quiet to hear it. – Minnie Aumonier

What's on your mind?

