Today’s featured finds: red

20110531-070752.jpg

Today’s featured Ukay finds!
20110606-032004.jpg

Red is definitely an instant mood booster, along with magenta. Whenever I wear red, I feel taller, stronger and ready to face almost anything!

Even as small details like accessories and fabric trims, or a spattering of red in a print, red makes an outfit come alive… not at all shy of attention!

So these Ukay finds grabbed my attention even as tiny slivers of fabric squished on those disorienting clothes racks!

LEFT:
This cropped blouse is so much fun! My niece, Riana, says it reminds her of Coraline because of the big black buttons on the sleeves. I love the contrast of bright red and black, the border on the hem and the open neckline that frames my collarbones. The fabric is a nice crisp cotton that gives it just enough body to keep its bell shape.
I love wearing this with off-white Juicy Couture sunglasses, white pearls, denim shorts, a laminated canvas Tory Burch tote and pointed toe black Melissa flats!

RIGHT:
This tunic length top in muted red, mocha, off white and dark grey print is admittedly a bit too “busy” with cotton lace trims and pin tuck detailing on the chest. But, the classic baby doll cut makes it all come together nicely. The fabric is somewhat sheer, in a cotton silk blend that breathes and feels light. Perfect for warm days. I wear this with a whimsical ivory-colored plastic ring from Forever21, black shorts, leather ballet flats or my malling staple – black Fitflops.

Bold colors are my wardrobe staples. Red has been a favorite since childhood! My mom says this was a favorite “outfit” for bedtime!
20110606-042856.jpg

What's on your mind?

