Today’s featured finds: structure, shape & form

20110531-070752.jpg

Today’s featured Ukay finds!
20110607-020029.jpg

LEFT:
This boxy top is easy to wear. It’s creamy white, in a cotton poly material that skims the skin. The lace bib detail, squared on the chest makes it less frou-frou. I love wearing pearls with this top, whether with shorts or jeans. It can go from lunch to afternoon tea to dinner and cocktails.

RIGHT:
The jumpsuit. It’s really better suited to the tall, leggy and slender. In other words, not me.
But, stubborn that I am… this is jumpsuit #4! I have a tube with elastic ankle bands in aubergine, a black tube with cargo pant legs, and a black with dolman sleeves. A snake skin print jumpsuit didn’t quite agree with me… Topshop, I think… So I walked away, huffing and puffing.

For some reason, I feel tall in a monotone column. FEEL. I love how it’s so slouchy like wearing jammies but with substantial chokers, a pile of opera length necklaces, or chunky bangles… Instant glamour! It takes courage to step out in a jumpsuit. Well, courage is what I have… Not the long legs. That’s enough for me! 🙂

This one is a deep teal. Fabulous with gold, bone, and ivory!
When I’m rushing and have only a few minutes to get dressed, I grab a jumpsuit. It’s a ready outfit that only needs a few accessories!

These two pieces caught my eye not for color, fabric or detailing. I also look for structure, shape and overall form.
In photography, it’s like composing a shot in black and white.
Sometimes, it isn’t the small details but the form that makes an outfit.

What's on your mind?

