Wasabi Ice Cream

20110701-032950.jpg

My nephew, Raja, requested me to make Wasabi ice cream. It was a weird choice for a 12 year old boy (he prefers to be called man) but it got me intrigued.
I had to try it!

My version has only a hint of wasabi, growing more pronounced as you take more of the ice cream. The base flavor is vanilla and it looks like vanilla ice cream.

Hubby liked it. Haven’t heard from Raja though. I don’t think this will be a staple in my freezer, unless I serve Japanese for dinner! I prefer Green Tea ice cream, which is already in my list… maybe after Salted Caramel Ice Cream πŸ™‚

7 comments

  1. This is quite an unusual flavour but looks good.

  2. Looks really good. I recently did a horseradish and wasabi ice cream to go with beef tartar, seemed to work out really well though undeniably unsettling at first taste.

  3. Joyce Colendrino

    If you can get some, try Haagen Dasz’s Crispy “Green Tea” Ice Cream Sandwich. I discovered it in 7-Eleven in HK two days ago and I can’t stop thinking about it since I got back last night. πŸ˜₯

What's on your mind?

