Growing Tomato

20110701-025641.jpg

Having been inspired by a blogger who grows tomatoes (My Little Corner of Rhode Island | sowing, growing and eating on four acres in southern Rhode Island) and wanting to use my own tomatoes for my breakfast omelette, I saved some seeds from a big ripe tomato, fermented them and planted half in a seed tray and half in a communal pot.

After fermenting the seeds for 5 days, it only took 2 days for the seeds in the communal pot to sprout! The ones in the seed tray are taking a little while longer to push out of the growing media but it might be because the tray was in a shaded spot.

20110701-030645.jpg

I guess I’ll just choose a few big ones from the communal pot and set them up in their own little pots. I hope they grow well! If they do, I think I’d like to try Cherry tomatoes too!

2 comments

  1. Happy little seedlings!
    It’s always exciting when they come up, no matter how long you’ve been growing them…
    And, thanks for the shout-out!

What's on your mind?

