Fancy Fans

As a child, I always admired and marveled at how my Lola would briskly unfold and fold her Spanish fans with a snap. I remember having small ones and trying to mimic her. It just looked so glamorous and lady-like.

Folding fans are back! Style.com recently mentioned how top fashion designers are using them in runways now and spotted supermodels beating the summer heat with folding fans.

20110721-082625.jpg

Will You Beat The Summer Heat With A Fancy Fan? : style file: daily fashion, party, and model news.

I feel lucky I was able to keep a few of my Lola’s fans. My mom had kept some and gave them to me recently. They aren’t just beautiful accessories and a practical way to keep cool in this humid tropical weather. Having one in my purse is having a reminder of my glamorous Lola with me all the time. 🙂

20110721-082919.jpg
Lola Vi in her teens, posing for glamour shots just for fun!

What's on your mind?

