Artful Nails

Some time ago, I experimented with black french tips and an acquaintance visiting from New York told me, so nonchalantly, “your nails are so Asian.”

My first reaction was “WTH???”. I AM ASIAN. We both are.

What did that statement really mean?

To this day, I am still bemused. It was the tone of her voice that made the statement condescending and mildly insulting.

Fast forward to today, a few experimental french tips later, I am wearing my nails in metallic aqua with black french tips, embellished with iridescent glitters. And I don’t care if it looks “Asian” or whatever nationality there is to describe it.

(Sorry for the blurry image. SLR’s not with me today.)

Nail art is a form of self-expression.

While a lot of creative designs and nail art products come from Japan and Korea, it is most certainly not only found in Asia. And so what if the trend originated from this part of the world? I’m not even sure if that’s true. Whatever it is, it surely doesn’t take away from the world’s fascination for beautifully adorned nails.

So this is my new hobby. Nail Art is a new skill I want to learn. Why? It’s fun! It’s another art form I can wear!

I can’t wait to get my hands on a stamping kit by Konad, and learn acrylic and gel systems. I know I can easily just pop into a salon and have all of these done. But, where’s the fun in that?!

There’s something about putting together another tack box to add to my organized mess of hobby gear that gives me a unique thrill!

Art brushes, dotting pens, rhinestones, mylar flakes, glitters, color powders, stencils, stickers… Oooooh. Exciting!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Someday soon… I will perfect this technique with the help ofย Young Nails!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Another new hobby! « Rica Rants & Raves

  2. Pingback: Etude House Nail Polish Loot « Rica Rants & Raves

What's on your mind?

