Night Beauty Demystified

Epiphyllum oxypetalum or Dutchman’s Pipe Cactus!

My mysterious, beautiful night blooming plant finally has a name. I found out from SMASHINGLISTS and PLANTOFTHEWEEK.

Dutchman’s Pipe Cactus is a large floral variety of cactus native from Mexico to Brazil. Plant can grow as tall as 20 feet (6.1 m) in height. It’s branches are dark green and it requires moist soil. It grows in late spring and early summer, somewhere around May 30th. It blooms for only 1-2 days. Individual flowers can be up to 11 inches (27.9 cm) long and 5 inches (12.7 cm) wide. It opens as the sun goes down. It has a very deep and fresh fragrance which spreads as soon as it blooms.

I’m so glad that it’s thriving in my garden with minimal care. I just left it alone and forgot about it until its fragrant scent called to me the night of its spectacular bloom. I hope I can propagate my two plants so I can scatter this beautiful specimen all over my garden!

 

 

2 comments

  1. Excellent detective work! How wonderful would it be to grow that near your bedroom windows, so its scent would waft through at night….

What's on your mind?

