Fab Wraps

It’s the season for gift-giving once again when we’re all racing to get our christmas lists done. And just when you think you’re all done… it’s time to wrap!

For most, getting gifts ready is as easy as buying a ton of holiday themed gift bags that come with gift tags. Great idea when you’re out of time. Just stash the gift-ready bags in your car and write a note before going into a party.

The second easiest way is to buy rolls and rolls of wrapping paper, adhesive tape, and gift tags and go on auto-pilot mode wrapping each gift either in one sitting (preferably with a glass of wine) or several gifts for a few nights.

But if you have time in your hands, like I did during my previous sabbatical, it’s quite fun to shop for nice paper, fabric, various ribbons and ties, and little trinkets to amp up wrapped gifts! I loved conceptualizing each gift and felt that the time and effort to wrap them was part of the gift, not just what’s inside.

Here’s a sample of what I made for our wedding sponsors, years ago.

I will have to look for that wax stamp somewhere in my boxes of wrapping paraphernalia! It really added a sensual, opulent touch to the whole ensemble. That was the theme of our wedding. But, it can be used on more rustic concepts with handmade paper or natural fabric wraps too.

One christmas years ago, I used brown paper instead… with strings made of natural fiber. My inspiration was the song “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music!

“Brown paper packages tied up with strings, these are few of my favorite things.”

Here’s a cute idea from Bugs and Fishes by Lupin: Gift Wrap Idea: Brooches & Badges.

I guess it’s an added expense to put brooches on each gift but it’s all a matter of diligent sourcing! Or, shop for trinkets in a thrift store and break them apart!

Or try a more affordable alternative… pompoms made of yarn! Tutorial from Bugs and Fishes by Lupin: Gift Wrap Ideas # 2: Pompoms.

Another interesting idea I want to try is to use solid colored paper and making my own wrapping paper with custom made stamps! I got inspired by Designer Custom Stamps.

Excited to try out these ideas but sadly, I have not even started with my christmas list. Next year, I promise to start really early!!!

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the pingback!

  2. Great ideas! I love making my own wrapping paper. I have a giant roll of brown paper at home, that I always dress up myself. 🙂

What's on your mind?

