Macaron obsessed!

My interest in macarons started quite recently. I don’t even remember seeing Laduree in Paris during my business trips years ago when I was more focused on museums and fashion. Macarons will definitely be part of my travel plan next time I’m there!

laduree-flyer-macarons1

Drool!!!

Fast forward to now, with so much time in my hands and a new kitchen, I’ve gotten obsessed with macarons but haven’t actually tried baking them! I’m trying to gain enough confidence to brave it. There’s so many ways to fail at it so attacking it like a science seems like the right way to go. But, even with all the exact science you’d expect from baking, there so much lore surrounding macarons:

  1. Egg whites need to be left at room temperature for at least 24 hours before using for macaron baking. I have yet to try this and pray that e.coli won’t kill me!
  2. The macaronage stage can be perfected by folding only 15 times. I certainly hope so but I doubt all bakers use exactly the same vigor.
  3. To let moisture to escape from the oven while baking, insert the end of a wooden spoon into the oven door. I’m not crazy about this as it’s already too hot in my kitchen. Plus, I don’t want to risk melting my oven knobs!

And so my quest for the perfect technique started…

Step 1: I took a macaron baking class at a local culinary school, Enderun!

me in class - mono

IMG_8143

Chef Cyril demo’d the entire process in front of the class, twice:
vanilla & strawberry macarons!

Smooth and even shells with the elusive, beautiful "feet"!

Smooth and even shells with the elusive, beautiful “feet”!

IMG_8160

In pairs, we made our own macarons using a kitchen aid mixer and a convection oven. I’m in love with this oven! Makes me want to find space in my kitchen for one!

IMG_8168

At the end of the class, we got to bring home a box each!

The verdict?

The recipes taught were the most basic so it did look easy enough IF you have the right ingredients and the equipment used in the school. I have been holding off on trying at home because I’m not so sure if my conventional oven can produce the same quality. So, I’m researching some more…

Step 2: Macaron books!

It’s no secret that I tend to hoard, among other things, books. I have just a few macaron books and still eyeing more titles. I don’t want just another recipe book. Recipes are easy to find online. Just google it! What I need are:

  • instructions with step-by-step illustrations
  • troubleshooting guides
  • thorough information on ingredients

In terms of recipes, what’s more interesting to me are those with exotic ingredients and flavor combinations.

For now, these are my favorites:

i-love-macarons     secrets-of-macarons

9780762442584_500X500

Hisako Ogita’s i ❤ macarons: Tons of illustrated instructions and pairing suggestions for shells and filling. Includes recipes for unused egg yolks.

Jose Marechal’s Secrets of Macarons: Detailed information for main ingredients and techniques. Specialty macaron recipes are to die for!

Gordon and McBride’s Les Petits Macarons: Basic macaron recipes in three methods: French, Italian and Swiss. Also includes recipes for unused egg yolks.

All three books provide helpful illustrated troubleshooting guides to help explain why your macarons didn’t turn out perfect and provides remedies for your next batch. Note to self: BOOKMARK those pages!

If you’re a sugar geek, this is the book for you!

Sugar-Baby

Gesine Bullock-Prado‘s Sugar Baby is not a macaron cookbook but it will help to understand sugar if you’re going to try the italian meringue method for baking macaron puffs. It has one recipe for Parisian macaron shells under the soft ball stage technique. I’m intimidated by it but I think I will eventually try!

Some more books I have with simple macaron recipes:

Macarons-Cannone-Cecile-EB2370003881394     Screen shot 2013-03-11 at 12.30.49 PM 

photo-8

And so far, the book with the most exotic macaron recipes is Adriano Zumbo‘s Zumbo Macarons!

zumbo-macarons

Joining my library soon are:

Mise en page 19781846013836_p0_v1_s260x420

519X6w985iL._SL500_AA300_macaron-magic-2

1041200-gf

With the wealth of information I have now, I think I might brave my first batch soon! All of these are just the start though. As with a lot of other disciplines, it will take a spark of artistic genius to create macarons that aren’t just a feast for the eyes. I’m hoping that I remain curious, up to the challenge, and sustain this interest until I find the perfect technique!

Good luck to me!

3 comments

  1. becpezz

    A very worthy obsession! Thanks for the pingback 🙂

  2. Debbie

    I’m currently looking to buy aprofesional convection oven to make macarons in. But I’m having a really hard time with reviews. Could you tell me the brand of the convection oven you used to make the macarons in?
    I look forward to your response!
    Best regards!
    Debbie

    • hi debbie!
      i bake in a gas oven so i don’t have any recommendaton for a convection oven. however, in the workshop i attended in a local culinary school, we did use convection ovens to make macarons. the heat is constant and even in every spot so it’s better for baking macarons. best to get one that can handle several trays since it’s less tedious to make a big batch and bake all at once. good luck on your macaron project and do let me know how it goes!

What's on your mind?

