Green Tea Macarons

IMG_8872

I have some green tea powder in my pantry that I use for home made green tea ice cream. So I figured, this can do for green tea macarons!

IMG_8885

This was using fresh (not aged) egg whites again.

Feet! :)

Feet! 🙂

Baked at 300 F for 10 minutes this time.

With "browned" edges... I have to figure out how to get this right!

With “browned” edges… I have to figure out how to get this right!

My first batch was baked at 350 and 320 F and they did show some browning too. Seems like my oven is really on the hot side. I still see some browning. Next time, I will try to lower the temperature to 275 F and bake for 11 minutes.

For filling, I had intended to make green tea infused buttercream frosting. But, as this is a half recipe for my remaining almond meal and had leftover strawberry frosting from my first batch, I just decided to use strawberry.

The browning really bothers me! It makes the macarons look dull and sad. :(

The browning really bothers me! It makes the macarons look dull and sad. 😦

Green and pink look great together. However, the sweet strawberry flavor of the filling overpowered the green tea flavor of the shells. Next time I do green tea macarons, I’ll do either green tea infused butter cream or a white chocolate ganache.

They look like pastel colored burgers! :)

They look like pastel colored burgers! 🙂

I’m out of almond meal and will still have to order or go out to buy another bag. I’m resting from macarons (and the calories!) for a week or two but will plan for the next batches!

What's on your mind?

