Gomphrena globosa

20110625-085442.jpg

Gomphrena globosa or GLOBE AMARANTH is one of the flowering annuals I am currently trying to propagate in the garden for the past few weeks. My mother plants have given me enough seeds to fill trays. My first batch of seeds sprouted with these bright purple flowers but the second batch of seeds from the mother plants started giving me lavender and pink flowers too.

Originating from Brazil, Panama and Guatemala, these make long lasting cut flowers. I plan to scatter little glass vases with these flowers around the house for a simple pop of color!

I always admired houses that use fresh flowers as decor. There are beautiful artificial arrangements but nothing beats the real thing! With a lush tropical garden just a step away from my doors, there really is no excuse to use artificial plants in our home.

If you’ve never been thrilled to the very edges of your soul by a flower in spring bloom, maybe your soul has never been in bloom.
~Terri Guillemets

What's on your mind?